Cooking Traditional Foods


By member Brandi Monson

Have you read Nourishing Traditions yet? That’s the book that started me down my whole traditional foods,/fermented foods journey. It’s very informative and inspiring. But I’ll admit that after I read it, I was a bit overwhelmed at making these sort of changes to our diets.
Cooking traditional style foods can be intimidating to those who are just starting out or who are lacking in the culinary department. Also for moms who are just busy, this style of cooking does take longer. BUT there is help for those of you who feel this is too daunting to take that first step.
There is a blog called Cooking Traditional Foods and right now they are hosting a giveaway for  a free year of Menu Mailers and the Recipe Archive. This is a generous giveaway and a great value! I’ve subscribed to KerryAnn’s menu mailers in the past (and I really need to again!) because she not only makes cooking traditional style fun and easy, she does all the leg work of making out your shopping lists for you. She even gives you reminders about taking out your meats to thaw, or soaking your grains/beans. It’s great for those of us who easily get sidetracked.

The other bonus with these mailers is that KerryAnn always puts in gluten-free, casein-free options with each meal. And for those who don’t eat pork, she offers easy substitutions there too! It’s great!

“CTF has the longest running Traditional Foods Menu Mailer on the internet. KerryAnn Foster, the mailer’s author, has over nine years of traditional foods experience and is a former Weston A. Price Foundation chapter leader. Founded in 2005, CTF helps you feed your family nourishing foods they will love. Each mailer contains one soup, five dinners, one breakfast, one dessert and extras. You can learn more about our Menu Mailers at the CTF website. For a free sample Menu Mailer, join our mailing list. You can also join our forum to chat with other traditional foodists and learn more.”

I encourage anyone who is even remotely interested in doing something positive and life changing with their diets to try out CTF menu mailers. Ask for your sample today!

2 thoughts on “Cooking Traditional Foods

  1. Thanks Brandi – I’m checking it out. Have had the book from the library for the past four weeks and am finding it very interesting but overwhelming….so this is a timely connection for me.
    Megan

    • The feeling of being overwhelmed is normal I think! 😉 I just tried to implement one thing at a time, like sauerkraut, that was my first step! Then I added coconut oil to our diet, besides EVOO & butter, this is our main fat source. I’ll admit, I still struggle with the sprouted grains & beans, I need to work on that! My fave thing (besides the sauerkraut) is bone broth. That stuff is sooooo good! And nutritious, and easy to make! Crock pots are your friend! 😉 Then I found the Menu Mailers, and my life got a lot simpler! Happy reading & cooking Megan!

Share your thoughts

