Home Brewed Ginger Ale


By Brandi Monson

Forgive me for my two month absence, a nasty virus did a number on my computer, but a loaner has me back in the swing of things while my CPU is in “the shop”.

I’ve blogged about fermented foods in the past, they are full of healthy probiotics which are great for your gut! But the benefits don’t stop at your mid-section, your emotions can benefit too! Research is connecting the brain to the gut, recently Science Friday reported this:

Reporting in Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences, researchers write of reducing anxiety and stress in mice by feeding them a probiotic-laced broth. Study author John Cryan discusses how the gut influences the brain, and whether the same might hold true in humans.

I think that almost every human being that has ever reached for comfort foods in the midst of a crisis understands that the gut is intrinsically linked to the brain and emotions! But sometimes Science is slow to catch on.

The Healthy Home Economist has a great recipe for fermented ginger ale. Check it out! Think I’ll give it a try, I’ll let you know how it turns out! Perhaps it will give me a much-needed ‘mood lift’!

 

3 thoughts on “Home Brewed Ginger Ale

  1. Wow, just mixed up a batch and this stuff tastes great even before the ferment!! I used 1/2 cup honey instead of the sucanat and two very juicy limes. I did use powedered ginger because that is what I have on hand, but I want to try it with fresh grated, or a combo of the two! In a couple of days I’ll check back in and tell you how it turned out!

  2. Wow!! YUMMY! I think that this is my new favorite drink! I have to sweeten it in the glass just a bit due to the salt taste, but other than that it’s perfect! Gonna make another batch!

Share your thoughts

