Iron Rich Green Smoothie


Contributed by Club Member Elizabeth Murray

When my little boy was 12 months old, he had a blood test to check for various things. The results came back with low IRON; the Doc prescribed over-the-counter iron drops. Well, me being me, I didn’t want to go that route first. I wanted to try diet first, then if that didn’t work, I’d do the supplements. In the past, I had made fruit smoothies frequently, then got out of the habit. Well, I decided this would be a good time to get back in the habit and this time make then green smoothies! So, I looked around for recipes and tried several different things. I ended up with the following mix of several recipes for our morning green smoothies. The Vit. C from the orange helps with the absorption of the Iron from the Blackstrap Molasses, hempseeds and spinach.

 

Smoothie, before...

Smoothie, after.

 

 

High Iron Orange Creamsicle Green Smoothie

1/2 cup raw cashews

1 cup orange juice (I have used almond milk or water before, but the orange juice gives it more of an orange flavor)

1/4 cup hempseeds (3 tbsps. has 11 g protein, and 16% DV of iron)

2 tbsp. blackstrap molasses (1 tbsp. has 20% DV iron)

3 tbsp pure maple syrup (to taste, use more or less depending on how sweet you want it)

6 oz. yogurt (I use soy vanilla or plain, you can use dairy yogurt)

Put all these into blender and begin blending to crush the cashews, until it is creamy and smooth (this will be several minutes in a regular blender, less in the Vitamix that I wish I had!)

Then ADD (with blender still running):

1 orange, peeled

1 banana, peeled

25-35 spinach leaves (depending on size of the leaves); you can also use kale or other greens…should be about 2 cups greens in all.

Continue blending until the greens are well blended and the resulting smoothie is a nice light green. Then add about 5-6 ice cubes and blend until they are mixed in. Then enjoy!

 

Blend until smooth in texture and uniform in color.

 

 

This recipe makes two large servings (adult size, so could be 1 adult, 2-3 kid servings) Each adult serving contains: 54% DV iron, 19 grams protein and around 500 calories. It’s enough to get me through the morning without needing anything else! Great way to start a day! And the follow up blood test showed much improvement in his IRON levels. Doc said to ‘keep doing what you’re doing’. So Kudos to Green Smoothies!!

 

A lovely way to start the day!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Iron Rich Green Smoothie

  1. Elizabeth, This sounds great, and looks even better. Perhaps you’ll be the one to finally convince me to give green smoothies a try! ??? Oh and link us up with these wonderful glass straws please??

  2. Just in case someone might be interested, I went to Sam’s in Tulsa have a large display of Blend Tec blenders priced at $349. They had both the 3″ and 4″ blade carafes on display.

  3. This is delicious! I used honey instead of maple syrup and added some parsley as I had some in the fridge. Such a good start to the day. Anemic be gone!

Share your thoughts

