Yam & Curry Soup


I have a basket of these lovely yams that we got in our produce bag last month sitting here begging me to do something with them. And I’ve been rather in the “Indian” mood as of late, wishing I had some tasty mulligatawny soup from the Tandoor in Lincoln, Nebraska.

So I think to myself, why not make something with yams and curry? Sounds good… So I did a quick search and found several recipes using sweet potatoes and curry like this one and decided to experiment.

I had four (already baked & peeled) yams in the fridge ready to go. I mashed them up, coarsely, in a stock pot. Then  I added some coconut milk, apx 1 cup. or more…

After that I added 1/4 tsp curry powder. As it turned out, this was too much for my family.  Note to self, next time just a dash then work your way up!. [So I have a big pot of Yam & Curry Soup all to myself!]

1/8 tsp white pepper, plus 1 tsp sea salt and a sprinkle of  Garlic Garlic seasoning from Tastefully Simple ®.

All of this warmed over a medium heat, stirring frequently.

Add extra coconut milk (or almond milk) until the desired consistency.  I like mine a little on the thick side but not like a stew. I left some larger chunks of yam too, so there is something to savor.

I threw this yummy soup together rather quickly but you could add sautéed garlic and onion.

Curried Yam Soup

Ready to eat!

Recap of ingredients:

4 baked & peeled yams, mashed

1 cup + coconut &/or almond milk, add until desired consistency

1/4 tsp (or less, much less) curry powder

1/8 tsp white pepper

1 tsp sea salt

sprinkle garlic garlic or similar mixture

Garnish with kale. Serve with bread and enjoy!

2 thoughts on “Yam & Curry Soup

  1. Thanks Bran! This sounds fabulous! I’m not sure if you knew or not, but Tastefully Simple also has a seasoning Taste of India, it’s fabulous stuff http://www.tastefullysimple.com/shopourproducts/allproducts/flavorsofindiaseasoningsalt740700.aspx really yummy on shrimp when used with a butter sauce or on baked Pork Chops! Unfortunately, this one is one of the Fall/Winter spices and will be unavailable for order after 3/6.So now’s the time if anyone wants to try it!

    The Garlic Garlic is one of my absolute mainstays in the kitchen. It can be used with anything or made into a great dip!

    If anyone is interested in learning more about the products Tastefully Simple has to offer or would like to host a party (catalog or Taste Testing) to earn some free product, let me know!

    Thanks Again, Bran!!

Share your thoughts

