Health & Eco Friendly Beverage Containers


By Brandi Monson

In my quest to avoid plastics, I have opted for reuseable drinking bottles. I don’t like the idea of drinking water that’s been laced with chemicals from platic bottles made from who know’s what sort of petro-chemical by product. Not to mention that one never really knows where the water comes from that’s in these plastic bottles. And then there is the problem of landfill waste. They say that only 2 out of 10 plastic drinking bottles are recycled. Tsk tsk.

I have some large & small glass bottles which are okay as long as we are in the car, but I don’t like to take them out where they can drop and break. I’ve had reusable plastic and poly carbonate bottles as well, but I’ve tried to eliminate these and replace them with stainless along the way. I purchased my first stainless steel bottles when Elizabeth tipped me off to the fact that the Dollar Shop [now closed] had some last year. I found them a bit more convienent than the glass, however, they are too large to fit in the cup holders in the automobile and they are thin walled and sweat terribly.

Recently I ordered the Green Sprouts steel bottles that the buying club carries. These are small, 8 oz,  and great for the kids. They have a cutesy logo on them and really are suitable for children. A green nylon sport spout and cap top them off. I like these and plan to order more. One drawback is that the walls aren’t as sturdy as the KleanKanteen brand, and dent easily when dropped from say 2 1/2 feet high. 🙂

The aforementioned KleanKanteen are what I think of the Cadilliac of stainless steel drinking bottles. I personally do not own any, they are a bit more expensive than other brands. The walls are much thicker and stand up to toddler abuse rather well. Easy to clean and there are a variety of different style caps & sizes to choose from.

Just today I found out about these bottles available from the Fly Lady [the organizational Guru]. I like the idea of a double wall stainless steel bottle that wont sweat plus the handy dandy carrying strap. Two options for drinking, the larger mouth or the smaller spout. The price is nice as well.

Using stainless steel water bottles is just one of the many ways that I try to practice Creation Care. Recycling is great and we do that as well, but what’s better is to reduce waste in the first place.

One thought on “Health & Eco Friendly Beverage Containers

Share your thoughts

