Barley


We’ve been using a lot of barley in our meals recently. One of the things I make a lot is barley bread. I got the recipe from The Bread Becker’s Recipe Collection, a cookbook that focuses on whole grains.

For my recipes, I have been ordering hulled barley  and have been pleased with it so far.

I thought I’d share the barley bread recipe:

1 1/2 cups freshly milled barley flour

1/2 teaspoon salt

4 teaspoons baking powder

2 Tablespoons honey

1 1/2 Tablespoons oil

1 egg

1/2 cup milk

Combine dry ingredients in a small mixing bowl. Blend oil, egg, milk and honey in bowl. Add to dry ingredients and stir only until mixed. Pour into a greased 8 1/2 X 4 1/2 X 2 1/2 loaf pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 30-35 minutes. 

 

I’ve been baking them in  miniature loaf pans for 15 minutes. I also substitute butter for the oil.  It is a moist bread and we have enjoyed it with a touch of cinnamon and extra honey for a sweet bread.

 

I don’t see why you couldn’t use packaged barley flour if you don’t have a grain mill. Anyone out there like to experiment? I wondered if you couldn’t substitute the milk, eggs, and honey with other alternatives.

One thought on “Barley

  1. Sounds great. I’ll have to give it a try. I don’t have any barley flour on hand, but I bet I can get some! This would be so nice for me to be able to make a simple wheat-free bread! Thanks so much for the recipe.

Share your thoughts

